2.0L Performance Tech 260hp (235hp auto) Turbocharged SS tuner version. 260 lb-ft of torque

just picked up a 09 hhr ss mt... few ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2014, 06:12 AM

just picked up a 09 hhr ss mt... few ?'s

I'm new to the small chevy turbo world. I have always played with big hp mustangs. This car will be my dd and don't want to go crazy with it. First question is I would like to get all the supporting mods done first such as, cai, cat back, and intercooler piping. Can this be done without a tune? I just want to have all my bolt on mods done before I tune. I really like the idea of the trifecta, but I have read quite a few horror stories on here about the guy doing some pretty crappy tunes?
Old 11-19-2014, 06:58 AM
Platinum Member

Welcome to the site.

I would skip the CAI. Not really much to be gained there. GM did a really good job on the design of the SS air box and it's flow.
Any thing other than the stock air box/filter set up and you run the risk of triggering a CEL. Then you would need to tune for that.
For a DD, I've changed mufflers and upgraded the BPV. No tune needed. Changing the piping shouldn't require a tune either.
Old 11-19-2014, 08:07 AM

I've changed mufflers and upgraded the BPV.

Just the muffler? how did it sound? I have some magnaflows sitting in my barn I could throw on. Not looking for something really loud but did like the sound of the magnaflow 3in catback systems.
Old 11-19-2014, 10:03 AM
Platinum Member

Just the muffler.(the one in my signature). A little louder and deeper sound than stock and no drone. Still have some powertrain warranty on mine so I haven't gone too far with my mods.
Tried the muffler delete. It was a bad drone at highway speeds.
After warranty I'll probably go with coring out the 2nd cat. There are a few threads on this site about the performance benefits from that.
Old 11-19-2014, 10:55 AM

Originally Posted by firemangeorge