View Full Version : Door Lock Issues


JeffsHHR
03-24-2008, 09:47 AM
Trying to diagnose a door lock problem. The drivers side, front and rear door locks won't lock, intermitently. They all lock when I take the car outta park, but when I use the FOB or press the door lock button either of the front doors, the drivers side locks won't lock - or the drivers door will, but the rear passengers door won't. My machanic thinks I need to take it in and have chevy flash the system. Anybody else have any idea's? Help is appreciated.

jx3
03-24-2008, 09:57 AM
Similar problem in other thread. No solution there has been posted yet.

http://chevyhhr.net/forums/showthread.php?t=13924

JeffsHHR
03-24-2008, 10:03 AM
I read that thread. His issue is he can still open his drivers door with all the doors locked. I have to lock my drivers side doors manually just to lock them. Sometimes they will lock when i press the FOB, but not all the time. When my doors are locked - you cannot open any of the doors.

ChevyMgr
03-24-2008, 12:08 PM
Trying to diagnose a door lock problem. The drivers side, front and rear door locks won't lock, intermitently. They all lock when I take the car outta park, but when I use the FOB or press the door lock button either of the front doors, the drivers side locks won't lock - or the drivers door will, but the rear passengers door won't. My machanic thinks I need to take it in and have chevy flash the system. Anybody else have any idea's? Help is appreciated.

I agree with your mechanic. A reflash may be all this needs.

JeffsHHR
03-24-2008, 12:35 PM
Thanks Chevymgr. I'll give it a try.

ChevyMgr
03-24-2008, 01:08 PM
If you would, let us know if this fixes the problem. I know of a couple that we fixed with reprogramming. It's not a new program just reinstalling the old.

JeffsHHR
03-24-2008, 01:34 PM
No problem. I'll schedule it with my local chevy dealer within the next couple weeks and let you know if it works.

JeffsHHR
05-02-2008, 09:14 AM
I have my car scheduled for a "reflash" on the 16th. How much can I expect this to cost me? I'm having other things done to it as well - oil change - state inspection.

Old Ray
05-02-2008, 10:12 AM
I would think nothing, if itís a warranty thing. I had the other problem that has a TSB on no door locking in drive/ cruise inactive / consul relay click / trans "I" inactive and it was fixed with a re-flash. DTC P1818 :smile:

JeffsHHR
05-22-2008, 01:38 PM
Dropped the HHR off to have the BCM "reflashed" for the door lock issue. BCM could not be reflashed. Was told it needed to be replaced at a cost of $478.00 plus labor.

I asked what else this BCM controlled besides the door locks --was told it runs ALL the electrical components inside the car. Great! Just when you get a few bucks in the savings along comes a challenge!:(

vschriver
05-22-2008, 01:40 PM
That isn't covered under the warranty?

JeffsHHR
05-22-2008, 01:41 PM
No....i have 40600 miles on mine. warranty expired at 36K

vschriver
05-22-2008, 01:47 PM
:( now that sucks, isn't that the how it works....when it expires everything breaks. When I was asked if I wanted to extend the 5 year I said no I like to live dangerously.... if it is going to break it will break in the 1st year (maybe not). However, so far I've had the recall done, the steering shaft replaced, new rotars, next week something with the axle, paint issue and a few other minor things fixed so lets see what else goes wrong.

JeffsHHR
05-22-2008, 02:00 PM
I really can't complain much. For the most part, my ride has been very trouble free. I haven't had any of the problems discussed in the forum, other than this particular one. Now my dealership....well that's a horse of a different color!

GCarp
05-23-2008, 11:18 AM
Did they say why it couldn't be reflashed?

calgaryhhr
05-23-2008, 11:28 AM
Sorry to hear about your troubles. When it comes to things like the cars computers and BCM's and such I think they should be warrantied for a lot longer than the standard period. The components are not regular maintenance items that can be serviced. If it fails and needs to be replaced (especially with as little as 40,000 some miles) I think GM should step up to the plate and put a new one in. I would be be pretty frustrated with having to pay for a new BCM especially when it's not a piece that I can maintain and it really should have no normal reason to go out under everyday conditions.

I would try to talk to high powers at the dealership and at GM.

JeffsHHR
05-23-2008, 01:06 PM
The dealership claims the BCM could not be reflashed because it is faulty. I didn't really believe them, but at a loss for what else to do. I prefer not to take it to another dealership and have to pay for them to check it out. Too bad I live so far away from ChevyMgr....he would offer me a deal i couldn't refuse!

I will see if i can speak to someone over the dealership. I tried the owner, but he isn't much help. It's the bottom dollar for him.

norcalmike
05-23-2008, 08:20 PM
Call Chevy and complain. You can get the number from the service dept at the dealer. My old S10 had been to the dealer several times for a noisy ac compressor while under warranty. Every time they said it was fine. So at a little under 40k it died. Chevy agreed to pay half so it saved me like $200 and change. At least a little less of a hit. Good Luck