Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Any Fiberglassers around here for Subs?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2012, 02:44 PM
Rest In Peace

Any Fiberglassers around here for Subs?

Looking to make a pair of Custom fiberglasss subwoofer boxes.

Not getting much info on 2 other forums, thought I would post links here to them and if you have some ideas, or suggestions on how to do it, please reply here.

(to much to retype so I am posting 2 links to them.)

Thanks

http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/...31375~get~last

http://www.stevemeadedesigns.com/boa...-in-chevy-hhr/

The Fiberglass forum I found is messed up and not allowing new members.
Old 05-10-2012, 04:28 PM

Dilsclaimer : I am no expert just a hobbiest.

You will want to make a mold of the window area out to the end of the interior panel. For this take waxpaper and line all of the pocket area with it making sure that it will be every where so that it both protects your interior pieces and helps for removing the mold you make. Once you have this done then you can lay down strips of fiberglass.

Since this mold would be the exact shape and size of the pocket area you can actually use it as your outside layer insted of as an actual mold persay. If you were to use it this way you would want to be sure not to add any layers to the outside of it. AND you could then do all your layers while it is still in the car.

If you plan on covering it in any type of material then you will want to use it as a mold only. If you use it as a mold then you will want to line the inside of it with waxpaper like you did before and then lay down strips again.

Once you have this part built you can then figure out how much more space you have to work with vs how much more you need so that you can figure out where to place the sub and any more space you may need.