General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Does this sound reasonable?

Old 09-20-2016, 10:34 AM

Does this sound reasonable?

Hello.

This is my first time posting and yes I am the typical stereotype of a female that virtually knows nothing about cars.

I'll start at the beginning my car is a 2008 HHR. The coolant temperature would go -------- I added coolant but it is happening every two weeks. I also thought that my brakes needed replacing. Took car to mechanic that was recommended.

He said my coolant plastic resovoir was unattached and needed reattactment. My tired are bald in front and dry rotted in the back. A control arm in the front is broken and apparently both rear springs are shot.

He wants $1375 to fix all of it. I have no idea if I'm getting screwed. His estimated listed only a few items broken down. Quoted me $144 per tire.

Can anyone tell me if this sounds fair? I don't want to be ripped off.

Thanks
CJ
Old 09-20-2016, 11:34 AM
Platinum Member

Welcome to the site.

The temperature display going "----" - that is typically caused by the thermostat jamming open (a few of us have had the same problem) - because it is jammed open, the engine does not get up to temperature fast enough, and sometimes turns on the Engine Check light. Replacing the thermostat resolves that issue - An ACDELCO thermostat is recommended as a replacement, even tho' they are a little pricey (maybe $30) - and replacing it takes about 45 mins to 1 hour (including replacing the coolant) - so in the neighbourhood of $100-$150, parts and labor.

Control arm broken - not sure what you mean by broken, as the vehicle can't be driven if it is broken. Anyways, an aftermarket lower control arm can be picked up at most auto parts stores for $110-$120 - and they take about 30-45 mins to install. Figure on $200 parts and labor.