Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   Audio and Video (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/audio-video-17/)
-   -   How to remove doors for speaker install... anyone know? (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/audio-video-17/how-remove-doors-speaker-install-anyone-know-6990/)

Eldon 03-03-2007 11:51 AM

How to remove doors for speaker install... anyone know?

I searched for awhile and no luck... maybe I didnt search hard enough.

I want to change the speakers in my 07 HHR but does anyone have step by step how to remove the front and rear doors?

I just have the standard system in there but I know that I would notice a small difference with a speaker upgrade even without an amp...

Thanks in advance! :bow:

crazybob 03-03-2007 10:05 PM

I was an installer for 10 years and I never removed a door. I'm confused, why do you want to remove the doors?

Nazramoth 03-03-2007 10:11 PM

Yes, you do not have to remove the doors to install a speaker.

You just have to remove the inside paneling. Most cars have the inside panel attached by only a few screws that are discretely covered over... but once those screws are removed, the panel comes off in seconds.

I did it myself on my old jeep when I replaced my front door speakers.

I haven't looked at the doors on my HHR though so I am not sure where the screws may be; or if that is in fact exactly how you need to remove that inside panel on an HHR. But just spend some time looking over the inside panel of your door and you'll figure it out. It doesn't take long to remove them!

HOWEVER; as you take it off and start to pull it away from the door frame, watch the wiring inside it very closely, you don't want to accidentally pull out the wires to your power locks/windows or whatever. When I did it on my jeep, the wiring went into a unique little plug that "snapped" into a socket inside the door. I had to unplug it from the socket to get the panel off completely.

dbfruth 03-03-2007 10:51 PM