Racing Discussion Race Track Victories - DRIVE RESPONSIBLY

Turbo Diesel?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2014, 08:02 AM

Lightbulb Turbo Diesel?

So I'm a little new to the custom car world and was wondering if anyone has any opinions on the idea of the 2.8L TurboDiesil from the Colorado in an hhr for its raw power and torque out put.

Basically looking for advice if nothing else.hoping for a beefy naturally aspirated 4 cylinder.

--edit--

Specs page for referenced engine: 2.8L inline4 TurboDiesil

Last edited by 843de; 04-21-2015 at 11:20 PM. Reason: added link for specs
Old 09-24-2014, 08:52 AM
Platinum Member

Just get the SS HHR. 260 hp. 260 tq.
Old 09-27-2014, 01:14 AM

Yup LNF or LDK engines make more sense for our platform. You can make 400-500 hp with these blocks without a ton of mods.
Old 09-27-2014, 07:38 PM

Even if that engine bolted up to the trans, that much torque would be too much for it.
You'd want to go for the engine/trans combo which is probably configured for rear wheel drive.
then there is the small task of swapping the entire electrical and engine management systems.
Short version: buy an SS.
one other option if you are up for some custom work, add a supercharger or turbo to your current engine.
Old 09-28-2014, 06:34 AM

Plus it's direct injection which would require modification to your fuel system. And aren't diesel (correct spelling) fuel tanks designed differently than gasoline tanks? Do lots, and I mean lots of research before even thinking about spending a dime on this pipe dream......
Old 09-28-2014, 01:23 PM

Many years ago my brother in law bought a Mazda RX 7. It originally had the Mazda twin rotor Wankel engine in it. After spending lots of money on the Wankel he decided to put a little 4 cylinder diesel from an Onan light plant in it.