Brakes | Suspension | Shocks | Struts Brakes,Springs, Shocks,Front End Components & Steering

Replacing Sway Bar Bushings

Old 05-25-2011, 06:54 PM

Replacing Sway Bar Bushings

Can anyone tell me how difficult it is to replace the front sway bar bushings yourself? I have never worked on suspension parts before, but am mechanically inclined and capable. My local reparir shop wants $67.00 plus parts to replace them, and I am wondering if it's worth it to do myself and get familiar with the front suspension since I will probably have to replace them more than once during the life I own the car. Any advice or pictures of the process would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-25-2011, 11:08 PM

the sway bar runs across the top of the k-frame. i saw mine up on the hoist when haldimand did my sway bushings. the mechanic said a couple of the bolts were hard to access. not an easy task with the car on ramps in your driveway but not impossible. you just have to hold your tounge the right way.
Old 05-26-2011, 11:26 AM

I bought the MOOG regreasable and had Midas install guoted $40.00 but it was more difficult than they thought and charged me $60.00, would only do it myself if I had a hoist.
Old 05-26-2011, 11:55 AM
Deceased

To echo Jay, go with the MOOG bushings than can be greased, and consider having the job done for you....did them on the '06 myself....never again will I try that without having my head examined first.
Old 05-27-2011, 08:50 AM

Do you guys have the part number for the MOOG greaseable sway bar bushing? I have an 06 2LT with 2.4Liter (FE3 suspension).
Old 05-27-2011, 09:59 AM

Wheel, I did it myself. Here are the instructions:

1. Jack the car on the front, and remove the front wheels.
2. The bushing are inside a metallic shell, holding the sway bar. You´ll need to remove the nuts and screws. You´ll requiere a 15 mm socket and other of 10 mm.