Chevy HHR Network Forums
Search

Welcome to the Chevy HHR Network forums. The Chevy HHR Network is the leading resource for Chevy HHR owners.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our FREE community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Register Forgot Password?
-
Go Back   Chevy HHR Network > General Discussion > Problems/Service/Repairs > Remote lock/unlock receiver "asleep"?
-

Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 05:18 PM   #1
Finch106
 
Join Date: 06-02-2012
Location: Tx
Member #: 57821
Posts: 3
Check out my gallery 
Exclamation Remote lock/unlock receiver "asleep"?

Hello. This is my first post on the board but it's one I haven't seen mentioned. I have a 2008 HHR and my remote had been working intermittently for a while, so I opened it up and soldered the weak points and it worked fine. Recently I took it to the dealer to fix the blinker arm because it snapped off. I think they unhooked the battery to do the repair, at least I think they did because a bunch of settings were reset.
Anyway, I can repeat this every single time so I know it's not the remote. When I'm in the vehicle and the keys are in the ignition and on, I can lock/unlock the car with the remote as many time as I want. Once I remove the key, and wait about 10 seconds it doesn't work remotely. I can open the door and it will again until the door is closed and I wait about 10 seconds. This eliminates the need for a remote if I can't use it to unlock or lock the car after the door is shut. Its a if the system shuts down until its awakened by opening the door or powering the vehicle on. Anyone have a suggestion? Thank you.
Finch106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:55 PM   #2
badassbowtie
Premium Member
 
badassbowtie's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-19-2010
Location: Buffalo ny
Member #: 19417
Posts: 1,495
Images: 188
Check out my gallery 
Welcome!
this could sound stupid but did you replace the battery and see if it did anything?
__________________
NASTeC and EPA certified home appliance technician
Part time welder and home improvement
badassbowtie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:57 PM   #3
donbrew
Moderator
 
Join Date: 01-23-2009
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Member #: 13699
Posts: 4,569
Images: 4
Check out my gallery 
You mean that after you remove the key, get out of the car, close the door, then use the remote to lock right? "close the door" is the operative part of the question, since there is a delay if you lock with the remote then close the door.

Otherwise, take it back to the dealer for a BCM re flash; an inexperienced tech may have blown it. Also check the DIC for the lock programming, it's covered in the Owner Manual (available on this forum).
__________________


NO MAN THAT'S GOT A GOOD * CAR NEEDS NO * * REDEEMIN'!
donbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 10:54 PM   #4
843de
Administrator
 
843de's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-30-2010
Location: Kannapolis NC
Member #: 21740
Posts: 22,475
Images: 80
Check out my gallery 
to the forum Finch106!

Hmm...can't add a lot to the previous posts right now, but if a new battery doesn't cure things, Don is right in suggesting a return visit to your dealer.
__________________
We won it, we won it, we won it!!! RDE 2/15/98

On being left in a parking lot for 500 million years: "The first ten million years were the worst. And the second ten million years, they were the worst too. The third ten million years I didn't enjoy at all. After that I went into sort of a decline"-Marvin the Paranoid Android
843de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 12:42 AM   #5
Finch106
 
Join Date: 06-02-2012
Location: Tx
Member #: 57821
Posts: 3
Check out my gallery 
Quote:
Originally Posted by donbrew View Post
You mean that after you remove the key, get out of the car, close the door, then use the remote to lock right? "close the door" is the operative part of the question, since there is a delay if you lock with the remote then close the door.

Otherwise, take it back to the dealer for a BCM re flash; an inexperienced tech may have blown it. Also check the DIC for the lock programming, it's covered in the Owner Manual (available on this forum).
I mean that if the door is closed, as long as I press lock within a certain amount of time it will work. If I wait too long, it's like the car fell asleep and won't respond to either action unless the door is reopened and closed again. It's strange. The battery is new because I replaced it before realizing that the carbon contacts on the pad were bad. Those were replaced and now the remote shows a signal for all buttons at the tester that Autozone has. Would the dealer charge for a reflash? I appreciate the responses.

EDIT: I know that it "dings" 3 times to let you know it will do the delayed lock. I'm putting the car in park, exiting, shutting the door, and if I don't press lock on the remote within about 10 seconds, using the remote doesn't work. If I open the door, immediately shut it and press lock on the remote it works instantly without delay since the door is closed. Same for unlock. If I lock the car any way you can, go do whatever and come back with my hands full, I'd like the remote to be able to unlock the door, and it won't. But 100% the remote isn't at fault, as far as it needing to be soldered or the pad replaced because I can replicate the problem every time.
Finch106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:01 PM   #6
donbrew
Moderator
 
Join Date: 01-23-2009
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Member #: 13699
Posts: 4,569
Images: 4
Check out my gallery 
I am thinking that the BCM needed updating when they mucked with the steering column/turn signal switch, and did it incorrectly. The TechII Scanner seems to be too much for some "GM Certified" technicians, I have had some problems along those lines.
__________________


NO MAN THAT'S GOT A GOOD * CAR NEEDS NO * * REDEEMIN'!
donbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:10 PM   #7
Sno White
Senior Member
 
Join Date: 12-24-2008
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Member #: 13080
Posts: 691
Images: 72
Check out my gallery 
This Has Been Handled Before

See:
http://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/showthread.php?t=39586

You have however, found something new in that it only does not work after the RAP time out.
__________________
2009 HHR LS Auto Trans

Last edited by Sno White; 06-05-2012 at 08:14 PM. Reason: added RAP
Sno White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:48 AM   #8
Finch106
 
Join Date: 06-02-2012
Location: Tx
Member #: 57821
Posts: 3
Check out my gallery 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sno White View Post
See:
http://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/showthread.php?t=39586

You have however, found something new in that it only does not work after the RAP time out.
Yep. http://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/showp...7&postcount=55 says it all. I appreciate all the answers in trying to understand what the problem was. I'll take it in and hopefully they won't charge me since they did it.
Finch106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 09:48 AM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply
   
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.
vBulletin copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Vb Style © vb-skins.com

Advertising - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Cookies - Jobs

Copyright © 2005 - 2013 Internet Brands, Inc. All rights reserved.
Chevy HHR Network Forums