Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   2.0L Performance Tech (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/2-0l-performance-tech-46/)
-   -   Turbo boost question (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/2-0l-performance-tech-46/turbo-boost-question-43962/)

Shaggyofwv 12-14-2012 06:57 PM

Turbo boost question

I am new to boosted vehicles as I have always been a "there is no replacement for displacement" kind of guy.. So please take that into consideration when reading this question:

When I am in first gear (5 speed) I can only get the turbo to go into the "boost" area on the turbo gauge when I pretty much floor it. If I just use partial throttle it stays in the "vac" area of the gauge, usually around zero. In any other gear it seems to go into the "boost" area just fine. I can hear the turbo whine in other gears, but I don't really seem to hear it much in first.

Is this normal?

10RedSS 12-14-2012 07:09 PM

you don't get full boost in 1st gear for the sake of traction.

Shaggyofwv 12-14-2012 07:17 PM

Originally Posted by 10RedSS (Post 683723)
you don't get full boost in 1st gear for the sake of traction.

I understand that they limit the amount of boost, but is it normal for it to hover around zero in first gear unless I floor it?

XtremeSS 12-14-2012 07:25 PM

Originally Posted by Shaggyofwv (Post 683726)
I understand that they limit the amount of boost, but is it normal for it to hover around zero in first gear unless I floor it?

Yes. I've noticed I don't build boost even in 2nd unless I am about 3/4 throttle. I believe it is to make the car more driveable and less of a gas hog

Shaggyofwv 12-14-2012 07:26 PM

Originally Posted by XtremeSS (Post 683729)
Yes. I've noticed I don't build boost even in 2nd unless I am about 3/4 throttle. I believe it is to make the car more driveable and less of a gas hog

Ok. Thanks for the info. I just wanted to make sure I wasn't having boost issues.

firemangeorge 12-14-2012 09:19 PM