Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   2.2L Performance Tech (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/2-2l-performance-tech-5/)
-   -   For the newbie here. (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/2-2l-performance-tech-5/newbie-here-32325/)

LawDog88 10-24-2010 11:13 PM

Performance Mods talk.

I know I may have a lot of posts under my belt, but I am still new to my HHR.
Since I have no idea what to look for for quality parts, I was hoping someone could help me figure out brands and prices for performance mods to my 2008 Shadow Edition..

I am looking to get a Cold Air intake, Larger injectors, Performance Spark Plugs and MAYBE a nos kit if I feel so warranted to do so.

Any help here guys?

-Officer1151

Talvanos 11-04-2010 05:04 PM

There are many old Air intakes out there, CGS and K&N just to name a few. I will be buying a GMPP one soon. My reason for choosing this one is the simple fact that it doesnt require oil for the filter which i have "heard" can mess with your MAS.

Larger injectors I would look at a 2.4 intake.

Spark plugs I have no idea about.

NOS kit, well I have never installed/used one on a fuel injected motor. My ONLY dealings with NOS kits are FOGGER ssytems that I used on my drag cars.

I am also under the impression that the best bang for your buck is a Trifecta Tune, but I would do this AFTER you have done all your other mods. Contact Tom on the forum for more info.

Wish I could have been more help.

solman98 11-05-2010 05:59 AM

What's your goal here? The stock intake on the HHR is extremely good, your not going to see much, if any of an improvement. But stick with the GMPP, K&N type if you must have one. They shield the filter from heat at least.

Your injectors should be plenty unless you are planning on some sore of forced injection in the future.

You already have iridum plugs, you could swap to a solid copper plug, but I really don't see what it would gain you. There really arn't any "performance" plugs.