Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

GROM Audio for HHR?

Old 01-13-2015, 06:27 AM

GROM Audio for HHR?

Hello All,

I'm a newbie to the site, as I just bought my 2007 HHR LT in November. In my previous vehicle - a 2004 Mazda MPV - I had installed a Grom Audio interface that allowed my to control USB devices (thumbdrives, iPods, etc.) and use my cellphone hands-free via Bluetooth through the radio controls. It's one of the few features of my old van that I miss! My HHR only has the standard XM-ready/MP3-capable CD player with an AUX input - no USB interface - and quite frankly, it sucks at reading CDs, generating a myriad of disc read errors in cold weather. The vehicle apparently doesn't have factory-installed XM, so essentially I'm stuck listening to local radio <shudder>. I discovered that Grom Audio does make a GM-specific interface, but they never rated it for the HHR. Their tech support asked me several question about the stereo in my vehicle, and concluded that it should be compatible. It looks and behaves virtually identically to the Impala stereo of the same era, which they do support. With this info in hand, I tracked down a used GROM-USB2P-GM interface on eBay, and attempted an install.