Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   Audio and Video (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/audio-video-17/)
-   -   Instructions to install aftermarket Amp and Sub (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/audio-video-17/instructions-install-aftermarket-amp-sub-2891/)

cshaberts 07-02-2006 04:53 PM

Instructions to install aftermarket Amp and Sub

I recently bought my HHR, and could not find any tips to install my aftermarket amp and sub, this post is to help every one else interested in installing your sound system with out changing out your head unit.

**I am a service consultant for a Chevy dealership, this process will work, and will not cause any damage to your car. Some of my info i got from service information on GM dealer world. (which wires to use)

1. Remove kick plate on passenger side front door.
2. Pull back carpet.
3. You will See factory wiring harness running under carpet, with razor blade, slice tape wrapped around wiring harness. (Be Careful not to cut wires!)
4. The wires your looking for are a light blue (-) and a dark blue (+).
5. Using Butt connector, tie in speaker wire to the dark blue and light blue factory wire. (note: there are two dark blue wires, use the skinny one)
6. Make sure to remember which wire you hook up as negative, i used the silver wire as - and the copper as +.

7. Next you want to hook up your remote wire, usually blue wire.
8. Pull off fuse cover, located on passenger side front, inner panel.
9. attach a spade to the end of remote wire.
10. put spade in empty fuse slot.
11. next you want to run speaker wire and remote under trim to rear of vehicle.

12. remove spare tire cover. Hook power cable to positive battery post, and negative to ground next to battery.

13. you will need an adapter that switches your speaker cable over to RCA.
14. connect your adapter to speaker wire run from front of vehicle.
15. after that it is self explanatory.