Fuel Economy - Hypermiling Dedicated to discussions on fuel economy improvements and related modifications.

? about mileage

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2012, 05:44 PM

? about mileage

Within the last couple of weeks I replaced the struts and shocks on my 08 Panel. I am not sure when doing this how much it affect the alignment so I took her in for a 4 wheel alignment. I know if your alignment is out it will cause bad tire wear and the car has to work harder causing poor gas mileage. My tires were not wearing odd or anything, just thought I should do it since the parts were changed.

My struts and shocks were totally gone, no rebound what so ever. My question is, do worn out shocks/struts cause the alignment to be out? Seems so to me but I am no engineer so you guys tell me. The reason I ask is that my mileage seems to have improved a bit since I replaced the worn parts. It seemed to improve before I had the alignment done.

Any input?

Thanks!
Old 06-16-2012, 05:56 PM
Platinum Member

The question is. How much out of alignment was it? Did you ask the shop that did the alignment?
As far as new shocks/struts and no alignment, I doubt there would be a difference. Shocks/struts pretty much control the cushioning of bumps and ride quality with their dampining ability.
Your gas mileage increase could be from the warmer weather and the gasoline companies summer "blend" gas products.
Old 06-16-2012, 05:58 PM

They would have to be way out of alignment to hurt mileage. Wheel would have to have a crazy amount of toe in or out. You would have been able to see that.
Old 06-16-2012, 06:25 PM

No tire wear but way better ride....lol. There was no pull left or right and the steering wheel stayed true. As I said I noticed the change after the replacement parts were installed. Never thought about the gasoline blend. Sounds like it could all be coincidental.
Thanks for the input!
Old 06-16-2012, 08:11 PM

Could be. Glad your riding smooth again.
Old 06-16-2012, 10:00 PM