Fuel Economy - Hypermiling Dedicated to discussions on fuel economy improvements and related modifications.

E15 gas, is it coming near you ?

Old 06-26-2011, 12:06 AM
Platinum Member

Exclamation E15 gas, is it coming near you ?

Just got this from old friend, I added the location for clarity:

Down here in mecklenberg county(charlotte nc) they just made E15 mandatory, luckily I still live 1 county southeast of there but im still having to occasionally get that crap.. the bike is pinging a little on the premium E15
Old 06-26-2011, 01:05 AM
Deceased

Well this is interesting sleeper, while House Bill 187 passed the NC General Assembly and was signed into law on April 7, 2011 allowing the sale of E15 in NC with very specific pump labeling...I have no knowledge of any mandatory sale requirements in any county of this state including the heavily emissions regulated Mecklenburg and Gaston counties.

As of right now E15 isn't even approved by the EPA for use in motorcycles or motor vehicles older than the 2007 model year pending approval of waivers and more emissions testing(even then vehicles older than 2001 will be prohibited from using it). Your friend should discontinue the use of E15 in his bike immediately before risking engine damage.

Since the passage of Bill 187 there have been a few vendors who have begun offering E15 for sale as an option at the pump. I can find no public records of any requirements by the Air Quality Board of Mecklenburg County initiating mandatory vending of E15.

Since I have business Monday back in Charlotte I will pay a visit to my friend in city hall to see if I've missed something regarding any E15 requirements and pass it along here.

Last edited by 843de; 06-26-2011 at 10:23 AM.
Old 06-26-2011, 01:27 AM

Not here yet in WI sleeper. As a matter of fact, I can still get E0 around here at one particular station. I go there most of the time because I like the idea of running pure gas. Although 90% of the stations around here have E10.