Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   The Lounge (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/lounge-10/)
-   -   Pre-Nup (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/lounge-10/pre-nup-18896/)

VictorySpark08 10-16-2008 10:37 PM

Pre-Nup

I'm getting Married Next Sept. I'm not sure how to go about talking to her about it number one. Main thing the Pre-Nup would be for is her Student Loans.

Now Question i have is if i Co-Sign Her student loans now,and have a pre-nup drawn up after we Consolidated her loansam i still responsible if we split later on?

Also Would i need to Put the car's in that as well. I am the only one on my loan and on her Car i am the main signer and she co-signed.

Any Help would be great.. Its all very Confusing.

Daverb 10-16-2008 10:40 PM

I would go to an attorney to check this out, you may get some wrong advice here unless someone is an attorney in your state.

stephenm 10-16-2008 10:49 PM

I'm not a lawyer, but my understanding is, a co-signer is responsible regardless of any agreement between the parties.

So if you co-sign, and she doesn't pay, the bank would go after you.

you could have an agreement that she would repay you if this happened that would hold up in court.

and I would do something simple like whatever debts prior to the marriage would remain that person's debts. and any during the marriage would be equally divided.

hhrcrafty 10-16-2008 11:36 PM

The only way you get out of her student loans as a co-signer is if she dies. Pre-nup or no pre-nup. The bank doesn't care if you're divorced or not. The pre-nup can force her to indemnify your responsibility, but that's about it.

Hire a real lawyer. This situation is a bit like doing your own dental work with a Dremel tool.

JayKWills 10-17-2008 12:34 AM