SS Specific Service Issues/Repairs Service/Repairs specific to the SS. Turbo-Brembo Brakes-2.0 Engine-Limited Slip Differential-Programmable Display-MU3 Transmission

Bad Turbo? :(

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2015, 02:41 PM

Bad Turbo? :(

Driving down the highway yesterday I start to hear a high pitch rev (think old time firehouse siren, but high pitched) cutting in and out. When it came back, I gave a little gas, and had no boost. Got off the highway and now that noise is made any time I accelerate.

Could my turbo have just kicked the bucket? No check engine light, no codes, no boost.

Crawled under the car today and started the car up cold - noise is coming from the same area as the flex pipe. Took a look, and there's a good amount of what looks like oil around the air intake connection to what I believe is the turbo. Not enough to drip, but enough to be concerned.

I'm new to the SS game, so any input would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-21-2015, 02:59 PM
Deceased

How many miles are on your ride? Because I honestly can't remember, and I should.

From the initial sounds of it, yeah it could have puked the turbo, especially of it's pulling oil past the seals into the intake side.

Those turbochargers spin at 90,000-120,000 rpm, and the seals and bearings in the center section between the exhaust driven turbine and the compressor section do fail.

Usually it's the oil seals that seem to let go first, but the high pitched screaming you're describing could be the turbine or compressor blades contacting the housing...and that's Game Over for the turbo.

I'd take it either to your dealership if you trust their techs, or a good independent shop that does turbo work and let them check it out.

It won't be cheap, but reman turbos aren't as expensive as you might think.
Old 11-21-2015, 07:56 PM

Originally Posted by 843de
How many miles are on your ride? Because I honestly can't remember, and I should.