Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   Tires & Wheels (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/tires-wheels-49/)
-   -   **putting wheels on the HHR excited** (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/tires-wheels-49/%2A%2Aputting-wheels-hhr-excited%2A%2A-33784/)

jswizz720 02-04-2011 02:46 AM

**putting wheels on the HHR excited**

this is my first post ever so bear with me. I recently got a silver 09 HHR LT and I'm getting wheels put on. I've settled came to the conclusion that I'm going to go with black adr 18 inch propulsions.

Will going with 18" require any modification to anything?

what size tires will i need?

how will the ride feel?

will i need to get new brakes?

I like low profile tires, what are some reasonable priced brands?

If lows are a bad idea are there mid level tires available?

**sorry I'm a rookie with all this**

843de 02-04-2011 03:00 AM

If you have 16" wheels stock you'll be doing a plus 2 up size, if you have 17" wheels its a plus 1 up size. I'd try 215/45/18 tires for a start, they are not too wide and will keep you at the same approximate diameter so the ABS and traction control will be happy. The ride will be a little bit harsher due to the lower profile of the sidewalls, tires do provide some of the springing in the suspension. Shouldn't need new brakes at all, not even an issue, unless at some point you decide to upgrade for looks or performance. Goodyear Eagle GT's are one that a bunch of folks here run, expect to pay about $150-160 each. I've also heard good things about Hankook Ventus V12 Evo's, expect them to run $130-140 each. Hope this helps, and welcome aboard!

843de 02-04-2011 03:03 AM

You can also look at Discount Tire, Tire Kingdom, or any on-line tire retailer. They have utilities that help you size tires for your vehicle, you're doing things the right way by asking lots of questions. The best mods are the ones that are thought out.

jswizz720 02-04-2011 09:52 AM