General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Mods

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2016, 01:10 PM

Mods

Of course I'm going to change it I've never left any car I've owned stock.

I just picked up my HHR Half Panel, I had been looking for a Panel for the last 5 years on and off. After seeing some of them I fully understand the owners wanting to keep them.

Remember I am new to the HHR - I passed on a low mileage (60,000) SS Half Panel, just a beautiful car, but the asking price was 15K, which from not knowing I thought was high. After reading I realize that it was closely priced to what it is worth, but still more then I wanted to spend.

Well I found my 2009 Half Panel for half that price and though it is a 2.2L gutless wonder I really like the car. I'm recovering from to many speeding tickets in my other cars, so the speed isn't a factor with my HHR. I needed a good driving - good looking daily driver that got better gas mileage then my others.

OK - to the point. I wouldn't call these mods but I will be changing all the filters and fluids pretty soon. Really the only issue I had with the car is the nose had quite a bite of road rash that had been poorly painted over. I ordered a new painted bumper cover and new badges, headlights (CA sun kills the clear lens) just because parts for this car seem very inexpensive to me.

First mod - I know everyone jumps on their motors as the first thing they what to improve, but I also have done the suspension first. I've already ordered new slotted front rotors and pads and KYB struts and shocks (these were needed).

Second mod - I would like disc brakes on the back. I know that the SS come with Brembos as an option? Can you buy them outright? Or did the SS come stock with GM disc brakes on the back that will fit my HHR? Basically, can you buy GM disc's to match the front that are already on the car?