2.2L Performance Tech 16 valve 143 hp EcoTec with 150 lb-ft of torque

After market intake mods, why?

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2007, 01:38 PM

Question After market intake mods, why?

I keep seeing photos of after market intake mods on HHR's. From what I can see, at least on my 2.2, it looks to have a factory cold air intake. Appears to draw air from outside of the engine bay within the area fore of the passenger wheel well... fender.

Also, I don't care for the oiled cotton medical grade gauze type of after market air filters. They tend to coat the Mass Air Flow Sensor diodes with a micro coating of oil over time, as they can leech micro mist of oil into the intake air charge. And when cleaned, if over oiled even a bit (and most people over oil them), they really leech oil mist onto the MAF.

In short, the stock setup looks pretty good.

I had an LT1 Corvette ('95) for five years that I modded around on, so I have some experience upon which to draw.
Old 05-31-2007, 01:53 PM

For me much of the reason was for looks. I can say though that I did notice an imediate difference. I attribute it to a shorter/smoother passage for the airflow and a much less restrictive filter.

My wife's we left as is except for using a K&N filter. We still noticed a small performance difference, just not a significant as with the intake on mine. We both have 2.4's but the reasoning should apply to the 2.2.
Old 05-31-2007, 04:27 PM

I use a dry-flow cone filter and have my filter relocated to the driver fenderwell behind the foglight. When driving around town, even in our 100+ weather, I feel a HUGE difference over stock. Even touching the intake pipes. Why would you want your main restriction (paper filter and big box) sitting over your engine? This has to be one of the worse intake designs I have ever seen.
Old 05-31-2007, 04:29 PM
jx3

Originally Posted by GDZHHR
For me much of the reason was for looks.