General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Six months - and a couple of questions....

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2018, 09:38 PM

Six months - and a couple of questions....

Well, I have owned - and really liked- my "07 2LT for six months now. Love the little thing, more than I thought I would. Always "look back" when I walk away, which is for me the test as to whether I like the car or not. It is my 58th car, so I have some experience with that.

Amid all the "like", I do in fact have two things that I need some advice upon.

1. I am somewhat disappointed with the fuel mileage. ( 2.4 auto with 167,000 miles). Always use Tier 1 gas. Mobil 1 in the sump, Valvoline synthetic in the tranny. 72 year old driver sympathetic to the machinery. New air filter. 35 psi in the tires, which are standard size. Over the last 3000 miles of mixed driving my average is 23.6. Not terrible, but I thought that it would be better, especially since our other car, a 2015 Subaru Forester with 70k miles, CVT, AWD and a 2.5 engine with virtually identical advertised power in a much bigger and heavier car, averaged 30.1 over the last 3000 miles of identical use.

Am I expecting too much to expect better on the HHR, or should I be looking out for something?

2. I want to improve the exterior lighting. Does anyone have testimony to offer of better replacement lamps for the fog lights and reversing lights? I have replaced the headlight lamps with Silverstars to great effect but I find the fog lights and - especially - the reversing lights to be very weak. Any real-experience information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, folks. This forum is great!
Old 12-27-2018, 10:13 AM
Administrator

For reverse lamps, I installed 921 LED bulbs, I also installed them in the high brake lights

https://www.google.ca/search?q=921+l...4G40XS9IdcbOM: