General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Thinking about buying an HHR...

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2006, 01:27 PM

Thinking about buying an HHR...

First of all, I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Tim, I'm 19 years old from Madison, NJ and am attending Moravian College in Bethlehem, PA. I'm a bassist and photographer, and frankly, I love music and need room to pack my junk.

My current ride is a 1987 GMC Caballero (El Camino for you younger types) and I'm looking to upgrade to something with a closed top, better gas mileage, and a manual tranny. I've had to cancel too many gigs due to rain, and frankly, I can barely afford the gas in a 4000 LB 305 ci V8. Oh, and horsepower isn't a concern, even the bottom of the line HHR has more HP than my Elkie :)

I've been bouncing back and forth between the Vibe, which sometimes I like and other times I think it looks like a squatty mini-van, so this is becoming more and more what I like. I hear great things about reliability of the Vibe, and hope to hear the same about the HHR. I'm a big fan of retro stuff, so the HHR is even sweeter for me, I love the roundness of old cars, and frankly, I've always had a unique ride, and I want to keep that.

Basically my requirements include:
1. Manual transmission
2. Reliable vehicle
3. Good gas mileage
4. Good looks
5. Decent sound system
6. Enough room to haul an upright bass or two large bass cabinets and a 6 space rack.

I'm going to hit up a dealer soon and try to stuff my gear in the back, and if it's a go, if I find the HHR to be as reliable and efficient as I need it to be, I'm going to be working all summer to afford the biggest down payment I can plus a trade-in on my El Camino for hopefully the sweetest new ride I can get.