HHR SS Topics and information on the 2008-2010 Chevy HHR SS Turbocharged models.

SS Newbie here! (repost from General HHR forum)

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2008, 06:31 PM

Talking SS Newbie here! (repost from General HHR forum)

Hello to the forum!!
My name is Mark Harper and I hail from Central Texas, Georgetown to be exact. I just picked up my SS Friday. I have had this frickin' grin on my face ever since. My wife, Susan, has a matching one. Until a couple weeks ago I had never even come close to considering owning an HHR. I was hauling my daughter's belonging back up to Colorado Springs (she got tired of this Tx heat) with my '04 Suburban and was having lunch with my nephew and his wife before heading back down here. They have a HHR and were commenting on their gas mileage. I had planned on trading in the Suburban after the trip as $550/mo in gas for it was beginning to get to me. We didn't need the it for the size anymore as both daughters are 20 and on their own (more or less, they never really leave) which just leaves my 14 yo son to haul around. Well, when I got back in town I start searching the internet for HHR's. I didn't even know the SS existed but once I saw that they did and what they were, I was hooked. I wanted a manual but there were only two '08s that could be found in So. Texas. One ended up being sold a couple weeks ago and the other was Orange which the ol' lady nixed. Being a Horns fan I kinda liked it but I decided not to push the issue. So the next best was the automatic. I like the color and interior and at this point am very happy with my purchase. Now, I'd love to be able to go 155mph but I don't really think that I need to. I take pride in the fact that I haven't had a speeding ticket since '92 and I am already worried about keeping that streak alive even with the slushbox. You go to jail when you get stopped doing 155, don't you??
Enough about me, let's talk about the car.