Introductions Welcome! Please take a moment to say hello.

New owner of 2006 LT2

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2013, 09:28 AM

New owner of 2006 LT2

Ok folks, newbie here so be gentle. I drove a 1999 Nissan Sentra that I purchased in 2001 up until a month ago. I sold it for $1600. I acquired a black/silver HHR w/126000 miles on it from my brother-in-law who owns a lighting company. The HHR was a salesman ride. I bought it for $4500.00 and I am in love (you can love a vehicle, right?)

This thing is so cool to drive and I am still getting use to where all the controls are and what they do.

Question 1-Are the 3 foam panels around the air cleaner meant to be maintainenced? If so, how? I just recently had the dealership do an dino oil change (It was free. They offer a free LOF on your birfday ). I had them install a K&N air filter I bought myself and was wondering if these 3 foam sections are what you guys refer to as the wooly worms.

Question 2-Every now and then the T/C light comes on along with the check engine light. When this happens the transmission shifts very harshly. The dash panel lights eventually turn off and everything goes back to normal, usually after it has been sitting a few hours.

Thanks for the opportunity for me to learn.

Kevin C.
Tulsa OK
Old 02-21-2013, 12:30 PM
Platinum Member

Welcome & Congrats-

Not sure what 3 foam pieces you mean ? Maybe you can identify them on this pic.
Old 02-21-2013, 01:58 PM
Platinum Member

I think, and correct me if I am wrong, but he may be referencing the sound insulation pads on the lower rear of the filter box. As far as maintenance.......comes to individual preference. When I had my stock air box, I blew high pressure air through them when I cleaned under the hood.

Kevco, the "woolly worm" is the intake air line on the left side of the air box, that goes to the passenger fender wall. It is # 1 on the diagram that sleeper posted, although it is not illustrated well.