Introductions Welcome! Please take a moment to say hello.

Newbie Question about HHR

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2013, 06:39 PM

Newbie Question about HHR

Hi all, I'm new to the forum. I signed up yesterday in order to get some info in regard to 2007 hhr LS. I'll give you a little background about me first.

I do sales for a living, so I drive quite a bit. Sometimes as much as 200-300 miles per day. So as you can imagine, the miles add up pretty quickly. I take care of my vehicles, and they typically last me well into the 200,000 range, but I typically drive something with a 6 or 8 cylinder.

Long story short, I ran across a 2007 HHR LS yesterday for $7500 @ 48,000 miles. From the others that I was comparing it to, it seems like a pretty nice deal. It is a repo, and is being held by the bank.

It seems like the others I was comparing it to were roughly 80-100k miles on them.

In your folks experience, what are the "typical" things that go wrong with these vehicles, and how long could one expect an HHR to last typically? I know these are really broad questions, but any info you can give is greatly appreciated.
Old 01-05-2013, 06:57 PM
Premium Member

Welcome to the forum Axent, I do outside sales too.....HHR best salesmobile yet. Some have got 250K +,... fill yours up and see how it does.....
Old 01-05-2013, 08:07 PM
Technical Moderator

Things that "typically" go bad are: front wheel hubs, exhaust "flex" pipe, front rotors. A new set of rotors with new ceramic pads will get you about 50,000 miles, new ceramic pads after that on the same rotors should go 45,000 more. Front brakes are easy to do with simple tools..if you don't let them go too far. If you can change a wheel and own a metric socket set. Monitor the rear brake adjustment for better wear on the fronts.

Check for recalls.

I got 200,000 on my 2008 LT before major expenses

That sounds like a pretty good deal if you can get new 70,000 mile tires it would really be nice. The OE tires are 70,000.