The Lounge Off Topic PG-13.
Warning: The Lounge may contain irrelevant and off topic discussions that may not be related to anything HHR. If you are not interested in these kinds of discussions, do not read or respond to these threads.

Apparently I work for a pretty good company

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2008, 06:46 PM

Apparently I work for a pretty good company

I have heard left and right about people getting laid off. My job isn't one I want to do the rest of my life, but I can do it for a while. The 12 hour days starting at 5 am are a little rough, but I have been doing it for over 2 years.

Today they announced that we, like most others I assume, will not be getting a Christmas bonus. Instead, we are all getting a Corporate gift of $1,200 (minus a lot of tax) but even still, I wasn't expecting anything. We normally get a 3% raise each year (on top of our yearly review raise) and instead of that we are getting a 2% raise. In these hard times, I go to my job not really appreciating what I have... but from what I have seen, I have a pretty good job.
Old 12-19-2008, 07:00 PM

We always seem to take things for granted--especially our jobs! You never know how much you liked your job until you lose it!! Sounds like you are using good judgement and look at the "big picture"...
Old 12-19-2008, 07:49 PM

Amen to that, many of us are grateful for our jobs. Regarding bonuses, the biggest problem for businesses is that the first year they do it, everybody is excited and pleased, but after several years the employees begin to look at it as a right instead of a special recognition in good years, and the actually get miffed when they don't get one.
Old 12-19-2008, 08:27 PM

Originally Posted by c2vette