The Lounge Off Topic PG-13.
Warning: The Lounge may contain irrelevant and off topic discussions that may not be related to anything HHR. If you are not interested in these kinds of discussions, do not read or respond to these threads.

Kudos-Good dealership review

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2008, 02:53 PM

Kudos-Good dealership review

I saw a bad dealership review and wanted to add a good one. They aren't all bad...

OK.
I am a soldier, currently in Iraq. Right before deploying, my Ford Explorer was t-boned by a police car who had run a red light. Long story short, I was OK, car totaled, their fault, they paid. Good enough.

So now, I'm in Iraq thinking about what kind of car I want to buy for when I return home. After a lot of research, I decided on an HHR. I liked the styling, fuel economy, I can put my pooch in the back, etc.

I come home to NY in February on two weeks R&R. I decide instead of renting a car the whole time, I'll just go ahead and purchase the HHR now that way it's ready to go when I return home in the summer. I look on yahoo autos and find this sweet, Black '06 LT2 at Vail Chevrolet in New Rochelle, NY. I drive up from the Island to check it out. Sales person greets me (Can't remember his name now but will add it later), offers coffee, the whole bit. We go out to look at the car. It's pouring rain. I do a cursory check, start it up...I'm excited, everything looks good so I work a deal for $13.2, put a g down o deposit and tell them I'll be back in the morn with a cashier's check for payment in full.

I show up the next day, cars not ready. Also, after looking at it, I notice the front bumper was cracked from a low speed collision. Nothing major, but noticeable. Didn't notice it in the pouring rain. Also, some scratches and minor dings.

I'm not happy.