Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

2011 HHR won't start

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2015, 02:01 PM

2011 HHR won't start

Hi, I'm new to this but....in need of help. Have had to jump my 2021 Hhr several times in the past few days. It jump easy. Went to auto zone to have my battery tested, it was fine do were the starter and the alternator. Don't know where it what to do next. Read about maybe just a loose fuse under the hood. Checked them, they all went in a little bit but still didn't work. does anyone have any ideas?
Old 10-10-2015, 02:39 PM
Platinum Member

Does it turn over when you try and start it via the vehicle battery?
Old 10-10-2015, 02:40 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the site!
Check the ground wires connected to the transmission case just down to the right of the oil filter housing.
Check the ground wire connected inside of the engine bay at the rad cradle just behind the drivers headlamp.
Check the ground wire at the battery in the trunk , both ends need to be clean and snug.
Check the fuse in the positive cable st the battery.
Does the starter engage and turn the engine over?
Are there and codes?
Do you hear the fuel pump when you turn the key to on?
Are any of the fuses you wiggled burnt?
Sounds dumb but do you have fuel what does the fuel gauge read?
Please let us know
Old 10-11-2015, 12:44 PM

Originally Posted by whopper
Does it turn over when you try and start it via the vehicle battery?
It just makes loud clicking.
Old 10-11-2015, 12:52 PM

Originally Posted by Oldblue
Welcome to the site!
Check the ground wires connected to the transmission case just down to the right of the oil filter housing.
Check the ground wire connected inside of the engine bay at the rad cradle just behind the drivers headlamp.
Check the ground wire at the battery in the trunk , both ends need to be clean and snug.