Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

remote start question

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2006, 10:41 AM

remote start question

Hi all, newbie here. I just bought an 06 HHR LS yesterday! I did a search and didn't see this addressed anywhere, so forgive me if I overlooked a sticky or something.

I only got one key fob with my HHR, and it doesn't have a button for remote start. However, I'm reading that most of the automatics are equipped for it. Is this just a matter of getting new fobs and having them programmed, or will I have to have something else done? This is a feature that I definitely want to use if it's available!

(Disclaimer: I am a girl, so please talk to me like I'm four. Thank you. )
Old 11-26-2006, 10:45 AM

First of all you should have been given two fobs. Secondly, I believe that all the automatics come with remote start. Your sales person should be able to get the correct fobs for you ( they may need to be programmed, and they will do it for you).
Old 11-26-2006, 10:51 AM

I was wondering about that also. I have the button on my remote but it took me a while to figure out what it was for. Do you think maybe my HHR came with it and then it was turned off or something by the last owner. I have had remote start on my past 2 vehicles due to the fact that I was stationed in North Dakota and it was a nice asset to have. Just wondering if its possible to just flip a switch and have it turned on. I am guessing that if the button is on the remote then it is prob hooked up somewhere within the vehicle.
Old 11-26-2006, 10:52 AM

If your ride is a manual, I don`t think you can remote start...
If it`s an automatic, You have the wrong fob. Go back and get the right ones (2). (Brainless Twit), john a basilio got in while I hunted and pecked.
PS. That was the best username you could come up with???
Old 11-26-2006, 10:53 AM

Hey Twit