SS Specific Service Issues/Repairs Service/Repairs specific to the SS. Turbo-Brembo Brakes-2.0 Engine-Limited Slip Differential-Programmable Display-MU3 Transmission

fuel injector problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2023, 12:36 AM

fuel injector problems

Sorry but I am new to all of this. I am having such a hard time finding the necessary information. I need to replace my fuel injectors due to them being dirty and as of yesterday a misfire. The car is very sluggish to start and will eventually run fine but sputters. I have already replaced the plugs, air filter and mass airflow sensor. I am not able to find anything showing me how to do the injectors. From what I'm seeing on some of the posts on this thread I need to remove something to get to the fuel rail. If anyone has tips or pictures it would be greatly appreciated.

2008 Chevy HHR SS
2.0 turbo charged

If I need to remove something so that I can expose the fuel rail to do the swap. What other parts may I need to do this job? I have the injectors and a fuel injector seal kit.

Thanks

Brett
Old 06-06-2023, 12:39 AM

You should perform a compression test. Replacing the injectors on the SS is not as simple as on the normally aspirated engines.
Old 06-06-2023, 08:05 AM

Moved.
Any CheckEngineLight? Or, some guy on facebook said?
Old 06-06-2023, 01:38 PM

Sounds like you are doing the parts shotgun approach to your problem.
If you would like to test start with codes.
Old 06-07-2023, 12:57 AM

No faults

I have no fault lights or codes. I don't think I am doing a shotgun attempt to fix. The sluggish start idle fluctuating started when I changed the mass air flow sensor and filter. This was due to a fault code and inspection. I then changed the plugs few days later at the suggestion of the shop.