GM Recall Campaigns For Information & Discussion of General Motors Recalls

Sheesh

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2014, 07:41 AM

Sheesh

I don't know why I get slammed (and have the thread closed) for asking for a question and asking for opinions from others regarding a situation I have no experience with.

I had stated that I've never been involved in a recall and asked for suggestions as to what I should do at this point... (call local chevy dealer, wait for letter, etc.) I did so some reading here and have googled and been to chevy's website, etc.

By searching here I'm seeing tales of people being denied repairs. People being told there are no parts, too bad, you'll have to wait. People being given rental cars until there are parts. VERY unclear as to a clear course of action for me. I did reach out to ChevroletCustomer service here.

According to the news, etc. my car is involved (potentially in the steering recall as well). According to Chevy's website, there are NO recalls for my VIN. Also unclear.

I'm am very nervous as I routinely transport my 3 kids on the highway in my only vehicle, my new (to me) HHR.

I do apologize if I started a frivolous thread (and probably just did again). I would disagree at that judgement of the thread and it's intent. But I guess it's not my call.
Old 04-03-2014, 08:07 AM

I think GM is saying that if you take the ign key off the key ring and just use that key by it self. (Pain in the neck) You wont have a problem.
Do you have a local dealer that you can reach out to?
Old 04-03-2014, 08:11 AM
Deceased

The first thing is avoiding panic, and to take internet rumors with a grain of salt.

According to GM it will be April 21st at least before owners are notified of the latest recall extension, please see the linked news report below...

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/id...40328?irpc=932