Chevy HHR Network Forums
Search

Welcome to the Chevy HHR Network forums. The Chevy HHR Network is the leading resource for Chevy HHR owners.
You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our FREE community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!
If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Register Forgot Password?
-
Go Back   Chevy HHR Network > General Discussion > Problems/Service/Repairs > no OBDII connect,no crank on 2007 panel
-

Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2013, 03:50 PM   #1
sgmartin6
 
Join Date: 10-07-2012
Location: pittsburgh,pa
Member #: 59766
Posts: 4
Check out my gallery 
Exclamation no OBDII connect,no crank on 2007 panel

Hey to all. First time on any forum. 2007 hhr panel 2.4 lt. Ive got a problem. While trying to install an engine tune for first time, flash says it cant connect. Got OBDII code reader and same thing... cant connect. My OBDII connection does'nt have the ppl wire in pin 2... it has a grn wire in pin 1??? All pins check out for voltage and grounds except I am showing a ground on pin 1.
Oh yeah and starter wont crank now. Had battery disconnected for a while but it is fully charged now. Can jump starter and crank but no power to purple solenoid wire. Dont know if problems are related or not. Cant find answers surfing so I thought Id try here. Please HELP.
sgmartin6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:05 PM   #2
donbrew
Moderator
 
Join Date: 01-23-2009
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Member #: 13699
Posts: 4,575
Images: 4
Check out my gallery 
The OBDII problem is a blown fuse , under hood box the one labelled "front power outlet" also known as the front cig lighter (same fuse for OBDII port). Sound like the other problem is also. The HHR is OBDII/CAN if that makes a difference to your reader. DON'T go yanking on wires if you don't know what they are.

I don't know what else you may have messed with, but when you jumped the car you did it the way the Owner Manual says to do it, right???? That black boxy thing under the hood is NOT the battery and only one of the connectors is for jumping.
__________________


NO MAN THAT'S GOT A GOOD * CAR NEEDS NO * * REDEEMIN'!
donbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 07:25 PM   #3
firemangeorge
Premium Member
 
firemangeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-06-2009
Location: fairhope, alabama
Member #: 18078
Posts: 3,832
Images: 54
Check out my gallery 
donbrew. I don't think the OP was jump starting the battery. He stated "jumped the starter". I read this to mean he was shorting across the starter solenoid.

Anyhow. Still good advice about jumpstarting for those that aren't aware.
__________________

2010 HHR SS, 5spd, LSD, Brembos
TTR rear sway bar
TTR front mount
GM Turbo Upgrade
Forge Motorsports BPV
Pedders Sportsryder springs
Flowmaster HP2 Shorty
firemangeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 07:43 PM   #4
sgmartin6
 
Join Date: 10-07-2012
Location: pittsburgh,pa
Member #: 59766
Posts: 4
Check out my gallery 
yeah fireman... i jumped starter only to check starter circuit... the small purple wire is from the relays and bcm. Thats about all I know about bcm crap. something is telling my starter not to crank. Its not the volts, I have almost 13v @ battery.
The obdII problem is puzzling me. Checked obd2 wiring with wifeys 06 burb and is different than my 07 hhr panel??? pin 1 is used on hhr and pin 2 on her burb and every other gm i've looked at.
Also checked for voltage at pin 16 like i stated earlier and its not a blown fuse (checked twice) and also the grounds are both good.

However I would like to thank you guys for replying any and all info is appreciated.
sgmartin6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 09:32 PM   #5
donbrew
Moderator
 
Join Date: 01-23-2009
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Member #: 13699
Posts: 4,575
Images: 4
Check out my gallery 
If there is no power to a wire there's only 2 choices 1) bad wire 2) blown fuse.

I still don't know why you are mucking about with wires at the OBDII port at all. The power to the OBDII port comes from the front cig lighter fuse.......(PERIOD) it does not matter which pin it is the OBDII+CAN specifications define the pinouts. Could be the power port is shorted, there have been lots of reports of the fuse looks alright, but is bad.

If you don't understand BCM crap (computer logic) why are you messing with it. It is not simple house wiring anymore.

I really don't mean to sound as grouchy as that reads.
__________________


NO MAN THAT'S GOT A GOOD * CAR NEEDS NO * * REDEEMIN'!
donbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 10:28 PM   #6
sgmartin6
 
Join Date: 10-07-2012
Location: pittsburgh,pa
Member #: 59766
Posts: 4
Check out my gallery 
Donbrew 1.please read initial post and tell me where you see 1.no power to obd2 2.that you were replying to someone as ignorant as you.
It's obvious you have nothing to offer so please offer nothing. I m done with u!!!
sgmartin6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 11:29 PM   #7
843de
Administrator
 
843de's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-30-2010
Location: Kannapolis NC
Member #: 21740
Posts: 22,487
Images: 80
Check out my gallery 
OK, everybody take a deep breath here, let's go through this deal.

1. Check the fuse(position #29) with a multimeter for continuity, checking it visually is not good enough.

2. Check the fuse socket for power, why you're asking? HHR's have a two part fuse box(upper & lower)...and the halves can work loose. So make sure the upper half is in good solid contact with the lower half, or you'll have issues.

3. Contact the vendor of the tune, ask them for input into what's going on, maybe the flash only partially loaded then the fuse failed causing your BCM to go into some odd mode.

4. Comparing your HHR to another unrelated GM platform is like comparing apples to oranges, they're both round and that's about it.

5. Make sure your scan tool is OBDII/CAN compatible, otherwise, it's useless on an HHR.

6. Look for loose wires or bent/corroded pins, it happens.

7. Feeding voltage to the starter directly proves only that the starter motor works, the BCM needs to be working/communicating with the vehicle before it will start.

We're trying to help, don't take things personally, the questions/observations may sound harsh or even dumb, but they are asked for a reason.

Let us know what you find, and welcome to the forum.
__________________
We won it, we won it, we won it!!! RDE 2/15/98

On being left in a parking lot for 500 million years: "The first ten million years were the worst. And the second ten million years, they were the worst too. The third ten million years I didn't enjoy at all. After that I went into sort of a decline"-Marvin the Paranoid Android
843de is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 09:42 AM   #8
db/sb
Platinum Member
 
db/sb's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-26-2006
Location: San Bernardino, California
Member #: 1280
Posts: 1,367
Images: 8
Check out my gallery 
843de, however you spin it, a response like #6 will likely lead to less people offering help/suggestions. I even had a couple things in mind but if that's how they could potentially be received/responded to then all I can say is that I hope he finds his problem.
__________________
2005 Pontiac GTO M6 (My car)
1983 Chevrolet El Camino Conquista (Daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sport w/AMG Sportline Pkg.(Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
2006 Chevrolet HHR LT (Sold 3/2/2013)
2008 HHR LS (Niece's-Sold 9/20/2013)
Family mechanic for nephew's 2010 HHR LT
Certified HVAC/MVAC tech

Last edited by db/sb; 07-22-2013 at 11:47 AM.
db/sb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 05:20 PM   #9
sgmartin6
 
Join Date: 10-07-2012
Location: pittsburgh,pa
Member #: 59766
Posts: 4
Check out my gallery 
OK....Lets start over... I most positively "do" have 12volts to my obd2 connection . I tested with a multimeter 12volts across pin16 and both ground pins. I did check fuse...even though I did already read voltage at obd2 connector. I am in contact with tuner and he agrees with 843de that tune may have been interupted partially thru tune transfer....waitjng to here back from him.

843de...Thanks for invite
db/sb ...what about #4???? That still holds true...to everyoe who would like to help
sgmartin6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:28 PM   #10
donbrew
Moderator
 
Join Date: 01-23-2009
Location: Fredericksburg, Virginia
Member #: 13699
Posts: 4,575
Images: 4
Check out my gallery 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgmartin6 View Post
Donbrew 1.please read initial post and tell me where you see 1.no power to obd2 2.that you were replying to someone as ignorant as you.
It's obvious you have nothing to offer so please offer nothing. I m done with u!!!
"Got OBDII code reader and same thing... cant connect."
__________________


NO MAN THAT'S GOT A GOOD * CAR NEEDS NO * * REDEEMIN'!
donbrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:28 PM
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply
   
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 PM.
vBulletin copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Vb Style © vb-skins.com

Advertising - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Cookies - Jobs

Copyright © 2005 - 2013 Internet Brands, Inc. All rights reserved.
Chevy HHR Network Forums