Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Free XM Expired -- What Happens Next?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2010, 03:50 PM

Free XM Expired -- What Happens Next?

My free 90 day XM subscription for my 2010 HHR ran out today -- I can only get the XM Preview Loop.

For anyone who has gone through this will XM contact me now to try to sell a subscription? I would like to leverage the decision to get the lower price deal I see discussed on our forum.

I have one other twist in that I have a current subscription for an XM radio in the car I got rid of before I bought the HHR (Toyota Matrix sold to my daughter). My option is to move that subcription (about $13 per month) from the Toyota radio to the HHR, cancel that one and see if they offer me a deal, or wait and see what they offer on the HHR and then cancel the current one.

I do like the XM for several programs so it is a value for me to keep.
Old 08-08-2010, 04:05 PM

I have a friend who got the XM free with his Cobalt. He never renewed the subscription, but still has XM. They send him reminders and a bill, which he ignors waiting for them to cut of the XM. It has been more than a year.
Old 08-08-2010, 04:18 PM

XM and Sirius are together now and Sirius still sends me renew offers 4 years later. I doubt that XM will let you off the hook and I'm surprised they haven't contacted you yet, but you can contact them online. Just Google XM Radio and you will find a website and phone numbers.
Old 08-08-2010, 05:12 PM

Mine expired and I never hear word one from them so I guess they didn't care enough to make a sale so I never reupped (is that a word?) my subscription. I did like it though.
Old 08-08-2010, 11:31 PM

I was contacted by XM before mine expired. I have a renewal notice in front of me right now for my second year.

Randy
Old 08-09-2010, 12:24 PM

Originally Posted by tucsondivots
My free 90 day XM subscription for my 2010 HHR ran out today -- I can only get the XM Preview Loop.