Pictures of GM PAL Ipod controller

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2008, 01:47 PM

Pictures of GM PAL Ipod controller

I bought the new "PAL", personal audio link, available from GM accessories
for the HHR so you can put your Ipod in the top glovebox where it will charge
the battery and allow you to run the Ipod using your factory steering wheel
controls and the buttons on your factory radio. Band button will cycle radio
from am to fm to Ipod. It uses the XM connection in the radio which both the single and 6 CD radios have even tho they do NOT have XM.

If you have XM, the install needs a Tech II to program a small change in
software. If you radio does not have XM like mine, it is an easy install tho
it does take the removal of a pin in the radio harness and splicing it to the
Ipod GM harness.

Here is the controller which mounts on heater box in passenger footwell.

The part number is 19171028 and about $130 or so from GMpartsdirect.

The sound is excellent and I am still learning how to use. Some have reported if yourIpod has lots of music, it can take awhile to search and find. So far
I see minimal delays. I am using a 8GB Ipod Nano.

turbofreak

Last edited by HillsdaleHHR; 01-27-2008 at 10:21 AM. Reason: reduced pic sizes
Old 01-26-2008, 02:07 PM

I love having the PAL attachment (came with car when I bought it). Santa brought Blackie a Nano iPod and it sounds great through the stock stereo (i think at least!).

I found putting music on playlists makes it easier to find what I want to listen to. Once you figure out how it works from the controls, it is pretty easy to use and those buttons on the steering wheel are cool.

Downsides, (well, more just getting used to really)--having to 'hold' the button for about 2 seconds to get it to change songs--no light touch there, but all that does is switch it to the radio.

Also, it is best to set up what you want to listen to before you start driving--hence why i have playlists
Old 01-27-2008, 06:41 PM