General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

wrecked 2006 hhr LT

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2012, 10:55 PM

Question wrecked 2006 hhr LT

I recently got in an accident with someone that didnt have insurance, and since im in a no fault law state if i want any money for my car I would have to sue them, which they might not have the money to pay and might not show up to court. I wanted to know what i could get for it if I sold it. the airbag did deploy, they discontected the battery so i havent tried to start it since. and i dont have the money to get it insepected to find out how much to fix it, i didnt have full coverage since im a full time college student and money is limited. it has 105,000 miles
Old 04-07-2012, 11:43 PM
Deceased

to the forum ffdpsoldier, wish the circumstances were better.

I hate to say it, but just looking at the visual damage, and factoring in the airbag deployment, its a total loss. Even though you're in a "no-fault" state, you should have "uninsured/under-insured" coverage on your policy, its required in almost every state. Contact your agent, you shouldn't have to sue the other party to recover the value of your HHR, that is the responsibility of your insurance carrier.

Body shops do estimates for free, you should never have to pay for one, and whoever gave you that info did you a great disservice. Because it doesn't look drivable, you would have to pay for the tow to a body shop, but that would be reimbursed by your insurance company.

So before you do anything, call your insurance agent Monday morning, first thing. You said you don't have full coverage, you need to get an explanation of exactly what your carrier is prepared to do.
Old 04-07-2012, 11:48 PM
Premium Member

Welcome to the site ffdpsoldier, Sorry to see your trusty stead took the hit, Glad you are ok !!
Old 04-08-2012, 12:05 AM
Banned

Welcome
Old 04-08-2012, 07:18 AM