General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Misfire, no codes. Please help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2021, 10:21 PM

Exclamation Misfire, no codes. Please help!

Hello all,

I’m a senior mechanical engineer, with 7 years in Formula 1 (McLaren and Caterham) and over 20 years restoring and rebuilding classic cars, I thought I’d seen it all, but I’m utterly stumped with this HHR, and desperately need some community help. I have a 2009 manual trans (5spd) HHR with the 2.2 litre engine. The car only has 65,000kms (40,000 miles) yet it’s developed a fairly significant misfire.

Misfire occurs predominantly under load in the 1300 to 2200 RPM range, but it’s intermittent, misfire occurs 90% of the time, but on rare occasion the engine runs without fault. Environmental factors (heat, cold, moisture level etc.) seem to have no effect or relevance to the fault.

-no codes (nothing stored, no CEL)
-no vacuum leaks
-fuel pressure and flow ok
-injectors good
-live data (fuel trims, lambda data, MAF all seem to be within tolerance)
-cylinder compression ok
-spark plugs replaced (symptoms remained unchanged)
-coil pack resistance appears to be within specification
-borescope shows clean valves, no significant carbon build up.
-all grounds checked, including to the ECM.
-gas is fresh and clean
-head gasket good

I’m tempted to just replace the ignition coil packs, but they check ok when I measure the resistance, I get no fault codes, not even any stored codes, which is very strange if it was a failing coil.

Has anyone out there had a misfire under load between 1300-2200 rpm with or without codes? Or does anyone have any theories what could cause such a fault without flagging any type of error codes?

Are coil packs a weak point or known to fail regularly on these cars?

Thank you in advance community.
Old 01-03-2021, 11:11 PM

to the forums!