General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Winter Question.

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2007, 10:26 PM

Question Winter Question.

Hey all,

Just picked up my new HHR over a month ago. Winter here in Norther British Columbia is limping to a close, and I'm wondering how the HHR performs during the cold season.

I live 35 km out of town in a rural area. So about 10 km drive on country roads to the highway, often very icy, always snowy, not always plowed curvy roads.

My previous car was an old Tempo. With the front wheel drive and good winter tires I did pretty good, felt pretty secure with the handling. Now grant it, I'm a granny driver anyways, but it's nice to feel like you are not going to be visiting the ditches anytime soon.

Sooooo, for you HHR drivers who have weathered a northern winter or two, how did you find your car performed in cold weather? (temps to the -30's or 40's Celsius)

And how does your car handle in snow and ice? What kind of winter tires do you reccommend? I used to have Goodyear IceGrips on my Tempo, the best Darn Tires I ever had. Not sure what is on my HHR now, I got them (the dealership) to throw in winter tires for a pittance. They are very good in snow, but not so good on ice.

Thanks lots!
Old 04-16-2007, 11:23 PM

We had some pretty serious snow here in Colorado this year and I didn't have any problems with mine at all. The lowest I saw the temp go was around minus 9F. I'm running the stock Firestone Affinity 16" tires too.
Old 04-17-2007, 08:05 PM

The best advice I can give is when cleaning snow and ice, open hood to clean out around the wiper arms.
Old 04-17-2007, 09:28 PM