Introductions Welcome! Please take a moment to say hello.

stts

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2019, 02:47 AM

stts

Im new to hhrs but am already rebuilding several. Sooo, in this thread, my 2006 with 130k miles has amber lenses all black, cracked and melted on both sides. the bulbs look old and still work. will eventually tear them open and clean them up. ill saw them open with a band saw and one of those hand held vibrating saws since I already see the glue is crazy strong. I can never find glue like that when I need it. I bought the car cheap from an idiot moron guy who got it for free from a pair of dizzy women. So its no wonder little problems like this never saw the light of day. The guy was a moron because he sold it to me for $300 with the engine siezed up. But the engine wasnt siezed up. The alternator was locked up solid with rust because the women let the car sit for 2 years after they lost the keys. The guy burnt the starter out trying to get the engine to move. I fixed all that, got keys made and now have a car running very well. But dad was killed in his hhr and I now have it to rebuild. Im trying to find a front end doner car but I keep buying hhrs cheap with very little actually wrong. I have 3 now and looking for another cheap that really is junk on the rear side. Junk yards want a crazy price for hhr front ends including the drive train. Any ways, these threads are all old I guess because they stopped making them but the car seems dependable so I will be an HHR driver for awhile.
Old 12-31-2019, 08:05 AM

Moved to Introductions.
Welcome!

The reason the lenses melt is using the wrong bulb. The correct bulb is listed in the Owner Manual. It has a "equivalent" number that is just a bit hotter. The 2006 model uses turn signals for DRL so they are on always.
Old 12-31-2019, 08:25 AM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, sorry for your loss, I’m sure your father will be smiling, you got the HHR fever.