The Lounge Off Topic PG-13.
Warning: The Lounge may contain irrelevant and off topic discussions that may not be related to anything HHR. If you are not interested in these kinds of discussions, do not read or respond to these threads.

Victory Motorcycles?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 07:28 AM

Victory Motorcycles?

Im new to motorcycles, when I say new, I mean I have riden many dirtbikes and ATVs, but have never owned one or driven a motorcycle on the road. Now I grew up in York PA, where Harley Davidson has a factory and so natuarally all anyone ever talks about is how wonderful harleys are and how much they love harley etc.
I like the H-D crossbones, but its way out of my 10K price range. A friend of mine recently intoduced me to a new motorcycle called the Victory Highball. It has the look and feel I want in a bike, but I dont know anything about Victory since locally everyone owns a hog. Does anyone have any input or advice?

If I don't get a motorcycle Ill probably save my money and continue on with my plan for building a LS1 miata. However, with the way gas prices are going, and many other build factors I may just get a motorcycle with my play money instead.
Old 04-20-2011, 09:08 AM

Victory has been around for a bit, owned by Polaris. I own a few bikes and none of them are Harleys. I believe a bike should stop, turn, and go equally well. I contemplated a Victory when they first came out as a cruiser bike/American branded that performed a bit better. I think the newer Victories are great bikes, look like customs, have good power, and supposedly handle pretty well. Considering how much of production is outsourced, the made in the US hardly applies to Harley anymore if that's a thing for you. I always like things unique so for me a Victory would be a def consideration. There are some pretty cool new Triumphs too that you may like.

ps I've had a few Miatas-that would be a fun project too
Old 04-20-2011, 10:42 AM

Originally Posted by Andy2.0