Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

A/C Charging issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2018, 02:15 AM

A/C Charging issue

My 2010 A/C stopped cooling as well as it had been but was still working. So I naturally figured it was a little low on R-134A. I have a set of digital MasterCool gauges. So I checked the pressures and sure enough, the low side was @ 30psi and the high side was @ 140psi. The factory sticker on the radiator indicates a capacity of .9 pounds (14.4ozs) of freon.
I had the vehicle in my shop with a squirrel cage fan blowing on the condenser. The temperature @ the front of the condenser was 85 degrees. So the R-134A charts info indicates for LowSide 45-55psi and HighSide 225-250psi. I not sure what the humidity was but we had been getting scattered showers on and off all morning.
So I start adding freon into the system and the pressures are really slow to come up. I put in 12 ozs of freon and the pressures were L/S 40psi, H/S 170psi. For a system that only holds 14.4ozs, a full can of freon is a lot for a system that was still cooling. I ran about 6 miles to town and back and my center air register temperature was 37 degrees.
I'm, completely satisfied with the way it's cooling. Its just got me stumped why the pressures are still low. I'm really hesitant to add any more freon when the factory sticker says .9 lbs. Does that capacity sound normal for our HHR's?
I welcome any input you'll may have!
Old 08-10-2018, 08:06 AM

Is the CheckEngineLight on? Does the cooling fan run when the AC is turned on? Does the AC compressor spin and not make noise?
Old 08-10-2018, 10:34 AM

I haven't physically looked to see if the compressor is spinning but its cooling so I assume it has to be spinning. The fan is running although there's no detectable unusual noise coming from its location or the compressor.