Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Confused about test data, low compression and normal leakdown?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2016, 06:20 PM

Confused about test data, low compression and normal leakdown?

I have two hhr, my 2011 2.4l. I am an Uber driver and have driven over 66k miles last year. I use it exclusively for Uber. That average speed is around 37 mph. I change the oil monthly. I had run e-85 file for a month, then decided the mileage was not worth the saving. I started to notice the engine running rough with the normal engine codes for missing on cylinder two. And turns off traction control. OK I have tried as much as possible.
Have reaserched here and everywhere. I have conflicting reads of testing. I have done compression test. 3 of the cylinders are the same 160, cylinder 2 is at 90. But it builds up fast like the other three. But stops at 90. So now I have done a leak down test. All four are exactly the same. Input at 100 and leak down about 90.
I think in tolerance. No sounds and no bubbles in the radiator.
I thought I had a blown head gasket. Not so sure. Can you loose compression from an injector? I have listened to them with a stethoscope and sounds the same on each. No water in oil and no oil in the radiator. I cannot drive this car until I repair it. Oh I'm at 240K on the odometer. And I noticed hearing loud valve chatter in the morning and goes away quickly. I don't hear that on my wife's 2006 HHR 2.4LT. Thanks for any help.
Old 04-30-2016, 09:10 PM
Administrator

Could be timing chain!
Old 04-30-2016, 10:05 PM

You mean the chatter might be timing chain, right?

Those test results are indeed puzzling. I cannot think of any reason why you would have such low compression in #2 and not be verified by the leakdown test.

90 PSI is very low compression and, if correct, the reason for the misfire.