Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

CV joint or half shaft

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 06:36 AM

CV joint or half shaft

Hello;
We have a 2006 HHR LT (auto) located in Canada. Its been an OK vehicle, but certainly not one of GM's better vehicles we've purchased. We do a lot of driving, and this vehicle has close to 200,000km (last odometer reading yesterday was 199,010km). Engine has been flawless. Brakes, not so much. Front end stabilizers not so much.
Anyway, here is the latest issue: please accept my apologies, I am not a mechanic, so my descriptions my be "off" as compared to those that are in the know mechanically. I have done a search on this forum, but have not been successful. There is a "vibration sound" eminating from the front end when driving. It's pitch/loudness is directly propotional to speed. (It has nothing to do with the transmission or engine speed.) I say sound, in that there is no "feeling" through the steering wheel. When the window is open there is no disconcernable "sound" from the outside. We only experience it inside the vehicle. I was under the HHR the other day, and grabbed both CV drive axles. One has absolutely no play. The other has the slightest amount of play longitudionally (less than 1/8th inch). All the boots are in "good" condition.
Any thoughts as to if it could be the CV joints / axle?

Thanks in advance for your input.
Old 06-22-2010, 06:40 AM

Wheel bearing. I've had both of mine replaced and that's how they sound like when they go.

Yves
Old 06-22-2010, 06:43 AM

Good Luck
I have a HHr 2LT 2006 with 129,340 miles on mine and I must say I am very lucky as mine drives like the day I purchased the vehicle. I wish you luck on your findings. I will be watching this thread.

Rudy
Old 06-22-2010, 08:44 PM
Platinum Member

Could it be tires?