Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Engine Or Transmission

Old 06-17-2017, 05:11 PM

Question Engine Or Transmission

Newbie here to the forum.
I have a 2010 HHR 2.2L with 141K miles that ran like new up until about a week ago. First thing I noticed was occasionally I would really have to get on the gas to get up to speed. Then it got worst. As of now to get up to and maintain 60-65mph I have to run it at 3.5K RPMs. To get it up there I have to hit 4K RPMs. No OD. Shifts through first and second ok but to hit 3rd and OD I have to floor it. Only when I floor it does it throw a misfire code and a code for the CAT /BANK1.

I am at lost for which it my be, engine performance or bad transmission so here's what I have done thus far. First, changed spark plugs, coil packs, injectors, air filter, MAF sensor, trottle position sensor changed along with throttle body and exhaust including cat and the gas presure was checked for 50-60 psi. Engine idles OK, but nothing indicating misfire or clogged intake valves.

As for the tranny, I checked the level and replaced the speed sensor on it. I am getting the same result. This problem exist hot or cold doesn't matter. No OD and seems to lack power when shifting between 2nd and 3rd. Hills kills and coasting only in 3 at 3-3.5K RPM. The few times that I floor it (out of frustration) the car dropped off as if I had thrown it into neutral and through misfire and cat codes. The misfire codes were on random cylinders and the cat code was P0420.
Old 06-17-2017, 05:30 PM

Hi chessplayer41, to the forums!!

Sorry to hear you're having these issues. Just to be clear, the only codes you've had are P0300 and P0420, is that correct?

You've thrown a lot of parts at this, in just a week or so. Have you inspected the wiring for the O2 sensors? Sometimes they get chafed or burned. Are you still using the original O2 sensors?