Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Forum newbie needs help with 2 items - please!!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2011, 11:13 AM

Forum newbie needs help with 2 items - please!!!

Good morning all,
I am a newbie here on the forum, but have lurked on here for about 3 years. I need some help with two issues.

1. My power steering goes out very frequently. When it does, I put it in N, turn it off and then restart it and I will have power steering back again, but only for a few minutes. Has anyone else had this problem? If so, what can I do to fix it?

2. The gear shift button is locked/jammed and I can't figure out how to get in to the housing surrounding the button. I have taken apart most of the dash items around the shifter and still no luck. How can I get to the gear shift button? I can't find a screw or anything that will allow me to take off the housing around the gear shift button. I need to fix it ASAP as when I start the car, it thinks it is in gear.

Any help with either issue would be greatly appreciated! Thanks, and I look forward to contributing on this forum as it is a great site!

Phillip
Old 07-19-2011, 11:25 AM
Deceased

to the forum Pray32!

To answer your first question, it sounds like you are experiencing a failure of the power steering motor itself, there was an issue with these and here is the thread addressing the replacement of a motor assembly. Be sure to click on the thread links included in the posts, lots of helpful info to be found.

https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/show...steering+motor

And for your second question, here's a link showing how to disassemble the shifter on the auto trans.

https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/show...t+knob+removal

Hope these help you out, always feel free to ask questions here, we're all glad to help folks out.
Old 07-19-2011, 12:40 PM

Welcome to the forum!