Problems/Service/Repairs If you have a problem with your HHR, want a tip on repairing or performing a particular service to you HHR here is the place to post!

Rear Axle damage...can this be true!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 06:49 PM

Unhappy Rear Axle damage...can this be true!!!

I thumped my 2010 SS on a curb such that the rear passenger side took a hit, but had no damage to wheel or rim.

I did get an electronic stablity control message and lost the traction control.

Steering whell is about 15 degrees off

Took it to dealership and they say I bent rear axle and damaged rotor...It was a good thump and I can see that being true.

But they are telling me it is over $2,400 to fix of which 1,600 is parts....I can't see that...looks like the axle hole bent plate that could drop right off and couldn't be more than a few hundred even with the stealerships markup.

Am I off base thinking this ought to be a less than a grand fix?

I am no mechanic...but have unbolted and bolted a lot of stuff in my day and have most every hand tool known to man...any reason I couldn't get parts at salvage and do it myself...does the SS have a special setup?
Old 08-19-2010, 07:03 PM

Insurance? That should be more than the deductable and cheaper than buying the parts yourself.
Old 08-19-2010, 07:08 PM

That suxs,
Bent axle, Steering off. The dealers prices for parts are what they are, You could search junk yards for the parts.

From the damage, sounds like you got off easy, Could have added a couple tires and rims to the repair bill.

Good luck, and stay away from the curbs.
Old 08-19-2010, 10:49 PM
Platinum Member

Originally Posted by `molchaser
I thumped my 2010 SS on a curb such that the rear passenger side took a hit, but had no damage to wheel or rim.

I did get an electronic stablity control message and lost the traction control.

Steering whell is about 15 degrees off