Chevy HHR Network

Chevy HHR Network (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/)
-   SS Specific Service Issues/Repairs (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/ss-specific-service-issues-repairs-61/)
-   -   Over boost code solution questions !!! (https://www.chevyhhr.net/forums/ss-specific-service-issues-repairs-61/over-boost-code-solution-questions-55719/)

Stockerhhr 12-01-2015 07:58 PM

Over boost code solution questions !!!

So I'm new to the hhr ss been reading a lot of forums and comments just bought the car runs great other than throwing the P0234 code, so the question when doing a tune or tuner which creates more boost you have to do wide band o2s correct ? So if I did the o2s would I still be getting the over boost codes ? And if so what are good o2s other than the Aem ??? Thanks !!

Oldblue 12-02-2015 07:23 AM

Welcome to the site! Try plugging P0234 into the search window there are many threads with solutions to your issues of overboost , most point to loose or broken wires, not the O2 sensors

P0234 Turbocharger/Supercharger 'A' Overboost Condition OBDII Engine Light Trouble Code | AutoCodes.com

firemangeorge 12-02-2015 09:01 AM

Does your SS have the GMTU (GM turbo upgrade ) or Stage 1 kit as it's commonly called.
If so, check the wire splices at the upper and lower Tmap connections.

Stockerhhr 12-02-2015 09:23 PM

Originally Posted by firemangeorge (Post 791545)
Does your SS have the GMTU (GM turbo upgrade ) or Stage 1 kit as it's commonly called.
If so, check the wire splices at the upper and lower Tmap connections.

No it's completely stock with 90k miles im leaning towards the wastegate im hitting around 20lbs-23lbs what should stock be hitting ? Want to do the stage kit, would that solve the problem where I wouldn't have to change the wastegate for less boost ? Been reading also that if I do the stage kit have to have it tuned also can't just plug and play ?

firemangeorge 12-02-2015 10:35 PM