2.0L Performance Tech 260hp (235hp auto) Turbocharged SS tuner version. 260 lb-ft of torque

Not aiming for huge power - what tune should I use?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2012, 02:15 PM

Not aiming for huge power - what tune should I use?

Hey guys - I need some help with deciding on tune options. I've been reading through many of the related threads and I'm still all confused, so I just thought I'd ask a question specific to my situation. I'm also completely new to the world of turbochargers and to aftermarket tuning. But I hope I'm not repeating any already asked questions here.

Anyway, here's my dilemma -I picked up my silver 2008 HHR SS 5M (woo!) in in December 2011 with 36k miles. It's at about 42k now (lots of trips to school in OH from IL). The car put me into major debt for the time being, so mods have been primarily only wish list items so far. It's still completely stock. With my low budget, it's gonna take a while for me to get the car exactly how I want it. I'm likely going to be buying bits and pieces here and there, getting bolt ons and smaller modifications one at a time (I want to start with a catted DP and catback exhaust, seriously considering HAHN).

I read a handful of threads about tunes and seems like 2 main ideas are common. First, is with the 2.0 LNF, you really should tune it after you install any modifications so that the engine doesn't relearn or throw codes. And second is that HP Tuners and Trifecta are, overall, the more common or popular options. However, I am not going to be tuning for the sake of massive power gains. I really only want to be able to tune so that I can adjust my engine after I install each new product (whether it be an intake or something much bigger). I wouldn't mind gaining a little power through a tune, but that is not the goal.