Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Factory Speaker Adapters?

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2016, 12:13 PM

Factory Speaker Adapters?

First off, hello! I'm new here.

Both right side speakers in my '08 HHR went kaput sometime recently (think it may have been from getting rained on for a few minutes before I realized my windows were cracked but I'm not sure) and I'm trying to replace them with some relatively cheap ones. This is my first time doing any work on a car, but I do computers, phones, and stuff all the time so I thought I'd give it a go as long as there isn't anything mechanical involved. Planning to go ahead and replace the head unit with something bluetooth-enabled while I'm at it since the aux input on the stock one has been acting weird the last year or so.

Last night I picked up parts at walmart and took off the front passenger door cover to test that the speaker was the issue and not something else and I noticed that it uses some non-standard mounting. After a spot of research, it sounds like this is used on the lower-end stereo system and my options would be to either drill holes into my door (which I would like to avoid doing), find factory replacement parts (overpriced and will probably break again anyways), or try one of these mount adapters. I went ahead and ordered a set cheap on eBay (pic below) but it'll take a week to get here. I was just wanting to know if anybody has some experience using these that they could share with me. Also, if they don't work out and I have to drill holes into the metal, what sort of hardware (nuts/bolts, thread/length/diameter) am I supposed to use for the job?

I greatly appreciate any help. Thanks!

Name:  W0yThrl.png
Views: 36
Size:  79.2 KB
Old 07-08-2016, 12:30 PM