Audio and Video All audio, video, alarms, and all other electronics

Typical sound issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2020, 09:36 AM

Typical sound issues

Hello all, I'm new to the form but not new to cars. Been tinkering and repairing and modifying cars since the mid-1990s. I recently bought a 2006 HHR no sunroof and I believe the basic 6 speaker radio, no sub. And like many others I experienced intermittent front door and rear door speaker issues. Some days they wouldn't work some days they wouldn't. So following all the forms advice I replaced all four door speakers. The problem remained intermittent with it not working more days then it was working. So I moved on to replacing the head unit I had a professional shop install the radio. And again same issues have persisted with only the tweeters working most of the time. does this vehicle have an external amp hidden somewhere that could be going bad? I've looked at all the fuses and everything trying to resolve this issue. I also read online one-time that body control module could be at fault so I left the car with a GM tech for a day, he returned to the car saying all is well as far as that is concerned. But take that with a grain of salt because it was a friend of a friend good buddy deal lol. any ideas or information is appreciated as I know this issue is frequently spoken about on here. Thanks
Old 07-01-2020, 12:14 PM
Administrator

Welcome to the site, when you replaced the door speakers, did you cut and solder the wires to the speakers or use adaptors ?
which speakers did you use to replace the OEM speakers?
Old 07-01-2020, 12:20 PM