General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

CarFax and a word to the wise

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2018, 05:02 PM

CarFax and a word to the wise

As some of you who have seen my posts know, I am new to the HHR "experience", having bought my first, an "07 2LT, just a couple of weeks ago. To be honest, the reason for the purchase was to have a second vehicle to avoid the miles piling up on my wife's new Subaru Forester. What I bought was a nice-looking "07, with a rare paint color (Golden Teal) and a nice options list. It had 164,00 miles on it but I have seen HHRs with lots more, and the owner seemed genuine in that he professed a history of dealer service (he was the original owner) and the CarFax seemed to support that, with many dealer visits noted. I bought the car, and only then did I do something I would encourage you all to do BEFORE purchase; I asked the original owner to supply me with printouts of the service visits,which he was able to procure from the dealers that did the servicing. What I found was that the car had indeed visited the dealer many, many tomes, and oil changes and such were dutifully performed. However, upon reading the comments on the service receipts, many items were noted by the servicing technician and suggested to the owner, only to be declined. I now find that the slight "clunk" I detect in the front end, now requiring controls arms and struts, was diagnosed over two years ago as a faulty control arm bushing, and declined. Reccomended transmission service was twice declined. It goes on. Conclusion: CarFax is a great tool, but not specific enough.