General HHR Discuss anything related to the Chevy HHR that doesnt seem to fit into the more specific categories below.

Tough Call: Sell or Keep my 2008 LS?

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2012, 06:52 AM

Tough Call: Sell or Keep my 2008 LS?

Hi everyone,

New to the forum. I've always liked retro-things, so got a PT Cruiser in 2003, and got an HHR LS in summer 2008. Been very happy with it.

I'm a Catholic priest in my mid-30s, and do a ton of driving. I visit friends and family, and on my day off take many road-trips as I'm an avid bird photographer, so go all over. Took it out to Glacier National Park last summer too.

No issues at all with it other than brake work, and new tires, typical maintenance issues. Struts too I believe were replaced.

Averaged 33 MPG on my recent road trip up to Minnesota's north shore.

I now have 120,000 on my HHR, and it's still running fine. Maybe it's memories of the thousands my Blazer cost me in the 90s or how when I sold my PT everything went wrong with it to the new owner, but I'm at a crossroads. I do like peace of mind with a warranty, and am just concerned little things will crop up as mileage increases, like water pump or belts, etc. I'm eyeing the new Hyundai Elantra GT, a hatchback version of their Elantra that can get 40 MPG. It's not out yet; test drove an Elantra sedan and it was very smooth, but I like hatchbacks. I'd sell my HHR outright to get a little more than a trade-in. The previously owned car market is pretty good right now so I think I could get a good price.

So, just looking for suggestions. For those with higher-mileage HHRs, have you had any issues? At what point do you sell your car and get something new - drive it into the ground or change cars more often?

Thanks for any advice,
Fr. Paul from the Twin Cities
Old 06-04-2012, 07:02 AM
Deceased

to the forum Fr. Paul!